Not really a non-cooker anymore

Chef!

Image via Wikipedia

About one month ago, I made a commitment to myself, a challenge even, that I would learn to cook real meals. Not hamburger-helper, or rice-a-roni, or freezer-to-oven breaded chicken fries. My boyfriend begged me for help to get him eating healthier. Taco Bell every day for lunch was killing his self esteem, and mine too. I had gained an enormous amount of weight when we met – he’s an ogre of a guy, broad shoulders at 6’3″ – Trying to feed him resulted in me overfeeding myself.

I needed to embrace the one thing ( besides having kids ) that I sworn I did not do – cook. I needed to stop ordering takeout and drive-through, I needed to start cooking healthy meals.

One of my best friends pointed out that I can’t really call myself a ‘non-cooker’ now that I’ve been going at this for awhile. I’ve slowly graduated from packaged/canned/frozen meals into all fresh/organic/healthnut ingredients.

I’ve become mildly obsessed with cooking. I think about recipes and ingredients all the time, what could I mix with that, changing things up, being completely sporadic and going off-recipe. And being successful.

I’ve started eating a lot more veggies, and I’m slowly working on getting more meat into my diet. Since I’ve started cooking, I’ve added eggs, mushrooms, bell peppers, artichokes, asparagus, eggplant, and zucchini/squash to my diet. My mom’s mouth is hanging open as she reads that.

I’ve had a few bad experiments, some that I couldn’t even eat. Asian cuisine is not my specialty apparently, but that is no problem now, since I’m trying to cut out pasta and grains.

I’ve been reading a lot of cooking blogs, and healthy lifestyle feeds, and I’ve stumbled across a lifestyle diet called the Paleo diet. I’ve found a few great sites that I will be linking soon. Essentially I’m trying to live without grains. Or at least enough to weigh significantly less than I currently do, and not be starving.

I don’t want to just be skinny and lose weight. I want to feel great and healthy. I want to help my boyfriend achieve his goals too. Mikey (7 – Mike’s son) has not complained at all about our meals like he used to – he hates hamburger helper! In fact, he compliments every meal, even if I don’t think it was that great. ( Has he already learned how to manipulate women with compliments?? )

24 Hour Fitness

I started going back to the gym, focusing on weight lifting instead of Cardio. I bike there and back, its a 4-mile round trip, with some nice hilly resistance.

I can count on 1 hand the number of sodas I’ve had this month. Unbelievable. With the exception of 1-2 cups of coffee a day, I have no other caffeine intake.

My goals now:
Learn to cook raw chicken ( x1 successful attempt )
Learn to cook fish ( x0 attempts )
Pork chops! ( x0 attempts )
Clean out cupboards by cooking whatever is left, instead of going to grocery store every day ( also saves $$ )

Stay tuned!

One thought on “Not really a non-cooker anymore

  1. Liza July 30, 2011 at 11:44 pm Reply

    Fantastic Kat, I can’t wait to try the recipe you cooked yesterday, it looks delicious! 😀

Leave a Reply

